Lincoln-Way North Honors Senior Scholars
Thursday, April 2, 2015

Lincoln-Way North High School hosted a celebratory breakfast today to honor senior students who have been commended and named National Merit Scholarship Program finalists, Illinois State Scholars, and PSAE All-Stars.

These students are truly inspiring. They should be proud of all that theyve achieved academically during their high school careers, said Lincoln-Way North Principal Dr. Mark Cohen.

Student Devin L. Werner was recognized as a National Merit Scholarship Program finalist and students Joshua N. Arvia, Anthony J. Brattoli and Morgan E. McInturff received commended status.

Currently, more than 1.4 million students in about 22,000 high schools enter the National Merit Scholarship Program each year by taking the qualifying test (PSAT/NMSQT). Commended students are in the 96th percentile of college-bound juniors. Semifinalist students represent less than 1% of the nation's high school graduating seniors.

These students have stood out among the brightest in the state, said Cohen. Im confident their hard work and commitment to school will pay off and open many doors to future opportunities.

There were 57 Illinois State Scholars from Lincoln-Way North, including Omar N. Abu-Hijleh, Jillian M. Allen, David J. Arnold, Ryan S. Arnold, Ryan A. Arthur, Joshua N. Arvia, Anthony J. Brattoli, Michael E. Brezinski, Daniel R. Brown, Chloe G. Burch, Rachel A. Burkman, Brianna L. Cappos, Gretchen M. Carlson, Jessica R. Catania, Mia S. Cleofe, Michael P. Collins, Alyson J. Conrath, Alison N. DeBruyn, Hunter A. Drew, Natasha M. Fields, Anna L. Gerlach, Abigail C. Greenwood, Mohsin S. Haider, Samuel D. Hansen, Robert C. Harrington, Kelley I. Heynen, Justine D. Ivanov, Logan K. Janicki, Patrick R. Kelly, Joyce E. Kim, Melanie A. Kircher, Aaron J. Labedz, Payton A. Lang, Christine K. Lee, Patrick M. McGuire, and Morgan E. McInturff.

Additional State Scholars include Ryan T. Meade, Jason A. Miller, Alyssa N. Murray, Nicholas G. Niendorf, Norman K. Palmer, Nicolas J. Pedraza, Nina N. Pelsi, Max L. Petraitis, Rachael M. Rascop, Laura M. Rovak, Rebecca L. Scanlan, Robert P. Sikyta, Kylie N. Snyder, Hailey N. Staunton, Savannah L. Stiglic, Nora P. Ward, Devin L. Werner, Madeline K. Witt, Alexandra M. Woehlert, and Kimberly J. Zralka.

PSAE All-Stars were students who exceeded all state standards on the exam, including David J. Arnold, Anthony J. Brattoli, Gretchen M. Carlson, Alyson J. Conrath, Abigail C. Greenwood, Justine D. Ivanov, Logan K. Janicki, Joyce E. Kim, Payton A. Lang, Patrick M. McGuire, Morgan E. McInturff, Max L. Petraitis, Savannah L. Stiglic, Nora P. Ward, Devin L. Werner, and Kimberly J. Zralka.