L-W East Donates to Camp Hometown Heroes to Honor Graduate Killed in Afghanistan
Monday, April 20, 2015

Lincoln-Way East students and staff will donate $1,152 to Camp Hometown Heroes to honor the life of Lincoln-Way East graduate, Private First Class Aaron Toppen who was killed in Afghanistan in 2014.

Lincoln-Way Easts student council raised $752.40 through a friendly dodgeball tournament and students and staff collected $400 through Denim Day. More than 22 teams competed in the dodgeball tournament.

It was great to see so many students get involved in the dodgeball tournament to raise money in honor of one of our own hometown heroes, said Laura Rycna, Lincoln-Way East student council sponsor.

The winners of the Upperclassmen Bracket were: Max Vaundry, Matt Sobczak, Ethan Tunstall, Brandon Bauer, Logan Winkler, Tony Witczak, Doug Barkauski, Patt Carr, and Jimmy Finn.

The winners of the Underclassmen Bracket were: John Bahnaman, Jason Stokes, Bryton Bubeck, Luke Angel, Dominic Harper, Jack Carroll, Matt Roseland, and Kyle Norstrom.

The winners of the Spirit Award were: Bryn Spencer, Krista King, Amber Lemmons, Julia Raczek, Michelle Burk, Sara Taylor, Brittany Kruzel, and Lauren Baker.