Lincoln-Way Cadets Earn "Cadet of the Quarter" Title
Tuesday, April 23, 2019

On April 18th, 2019, the AFJROTC cadet board met to score cadet candidates for “Cadet of the Quarter.”

Cadet of the Quarter recognizes cadets who have excelled in the AFJROTC program. After students are nominated, they complete a nominee package questionnaire—worth a maximum of 45 points—and then meet the board in person for another possible 55 points. The nominee package questionnaire asks the cadets eight questions pertaining to their involvement in AFJROTC, the school, the community, and demonstration of leadership skills. Upon completion, the cadets turn in the questionnaire and meets with the board. Each cadet who meet the board is issued a study guide that will help them prepare for potential questions from board members.

The board was chaired by the cadet deputy group commander, Jessica Sumrow. The additional board members consist of the cadet group commander, Arick Hauschild, deputy group commander Ani Smentek, squadron commanders Magan Martinez and Cheyanne Montano. They are referred to as “The Top.” The board evaluates the applicants through an inspection of their uniform, a drill command performance, and a series of questions. Once the scoring is complete, the board recommends a winner in each category (based on the cadet’s year in AFJROTC) to Colonel (retired) George Ramey.

“Being nominated to meet the board is an honor and privilege. These cadets who met the board are the best of the best. The competition was very close. This is a challenging, growing experience for the cadets. It’s a nerve-racking experience, but those who prepare for the board tend to do well.” said Col. Ramey.

The winners for Cadet of the Quarter by year in AFJROTC are:
• 1st Year Winner: Samantha R. Lazarski
• 2nd Year Winner: Christopher P. Flynn
• 3rd Year Winner: Mikayla M. Hollingsworth
• 4th Year Winner: Aidan J. Hart

All winners will have their official unit photo displayed on “The Wall of Fame” for one year and each will receive the Superior Performance Ribbon at the semester awards ceremony.