L-W West Hosts West Fest to Recognize Academic Excellence
Wednesday, April 29, 2015

Last week, more than 175 seniors from Lincoln-Way West were recognized for academic excellence during a special lunch called West Fest held at Gattos in New Lenox.

The commitment to excellence at Lincoln-Way West is outstanding and we are so proud of our students who continue to embrace hard work, seek out academic challenges, and consistently strive for personal growth, said Dr. Monica Schmitt, Principal at West. West Fest is just a small way that we can show our students that we have noticed all that they do to excel in high school.

Its really cool that they held this event for us today, said student Trace Howard. I transferred into Lincoln-Way and they didnt do this at my old school.

Howard plans to major in Business Administration and said he enjoyed Spanish and History the most at Lincoln-Way West as well as all of the activities and sports.

Miranda St. Amour said she really enjoyed participating in competitive dance especially since her team placed third at state

West pushes us academically, St. Amour said. The AP and honors teachers are really good at what they do and they make you want to learn.

I really enjoyed all of the group work in our classes, said student Jeremy Kambic, who will major in engineering at the University of Alabama next year.

Student Nikki Singleton said she is really grateful that the school puts on West Fest and called it a great motivator. Her favorite part of high school was the Advanced Placement classes as well as being involved in the music department including concert band, marching band and winter guard. Singleton plans to attend Boston University for physical therapy.

Students who were honored include: Megan L. Abner, Casey R. Adamson, Nathan T. Adler, Julia L. Aleksic, Zaid F. Alnobani, Alexander S. Alvarado, Hope J. Barry, Samantha L. Basile, Laura E. Bechtel, Jaclyn Beemsterboer, Samuel T. Bellamy, Anthony J. Bendy, Christian D. Bierma, Nicholas M. Bishop, Kenneth J. Bordes, Jonathon C. Bostjancic, Thomas J. Brennan, Mary Catherine R. Broucek, Meredith T. Buldak, Michaela C. Bulthuis, Nina M. Bumstead, Divinity L. Burgos, William E. Campbell, Abigail A. Chacon, Brandon R. Ciocci, Andrew S. Clavenna, Trevor J. Dallio, Kayla S. Deacon, Erin K. Dolan, Alexander M. Doyle, Patrick J. Dunne, Simon A. Egner, Kaelen R. Evon, Caroline E. Floyd, Johnathan A. Folino, Madeleine P. Forberg, Brendan G. Fuerst, Alyssa J. Gasa, and Jacob J. Gasparich.

Additional students honored at West Fest include: Valerie M. Gibertini, Trisha T. Golec, Ryan C. Gordy, Laci Linn Gorman, Emma K. Hahs, Michael A. Hernandez, Tristan J. Hibler, Sarah A. Higgs, Trace A. Howard, Hannah L. Hunter, Breanne N. Jacobs, Rachel N. Johnson, Kailey Kahl, Jeremy L. Kambic, Jessica M. Karlic, Peter J. King, Kailey R. Kinsella, Meghan Kirk, Jenna R. Kirkeeng, Sean M. Knights, Kelsey L. Knodel, Dylan J. Kogut, Kadin T. Kreis, and Elizabeth M. Kritikos.

Additional students at West Fest include Danielle D. Kuchler, Meghann M. Lange, Taylor N. LeBeau, Holly E. Lenczewski, Anna E. Leo, Katie E. Lesage, Tyler T. Lorenz,
Steven R. Lotz, Jordan A. MacQueen, Bailey J. Magruder, Craig S. Majcher, Jake R. Martin, Stephanie A. McDonald, Savanna A. Miska, Dana C. Moss, David L. Mulder,
Raymundo Muro Barrios, Shane M. Murphy, Ryan D. Neiheisel, Sydney D. Novak, Sara E. O'Hare, Casey J. O'Sullivan, Kelly C. O'Sullivan, Brandon G. Panek, Nathan L. Paniak, Daniel T. Petrou, Maximillian A. Petrungaro, Kyle R. Pigney, Kaila R. Pohrte,
Dylan J. Pool, Taylor L. Potete, Michael A. Pratl, Renee N. Propp, Joseph M. Pryzdia,
Emily E. Ray, Sarah R. Richardson, Max R. Rickerson, Jacob M. Rossborough, Andrew J. Ryan, John M. Saffrahn, Juan A. Sanchez, and Nathan T. Scalone.

Additional students at West Fest include Nathan R. Schueler, Jenna K. Serrano, Sam J. Sigrist, Nicole O. Singleton, Kyle J. Small, Carly E. Souder, Kaitlyn N. Souder, Bridget L. Soukup, Madeline S. Springgate, Miranda L. St. Amour, Sydney H. St. Leger,
Kamil R. Stafinski, Morgan E. Staley, Chase Starcevich, William R. Stripeik, Alexandra N. Sutor, Jacob A. Sytsma, John Tamburo, Gabrielle R. Tanquilut, Nicholas A. Trolian,
Karina E. Urbanczyk, Tessa N. Valentine, Jacob T. Vanderwell, Brandon G. Voss, Jessica L. Wallace, Jillian S. Waller, Alexandra N. Wasko, Natalie M. Waters, Delayne M. Weston, Michael B. Wexter, Megan E. Weygandt, Tessa M. Wheeler, Joseph T. Wintercorn, Danielle N. Woodman, Jesse J. Wydrinski, Cesar Zavala, Rachel E. Zielinski and Jacob M. Zola.