Lincoln-Way East and North Students Participate in Collegiate-Level Music Clinic
Monday, March 9, 2015

Twenty-six students from Lincoln-Way East and Lincoln-Way North performed percussion ensembles during the VanderCook Day of Percussion at VanderCook College of Music in Chicago last month. Students from across the Chicago area participated in the music clinic led by VanderCooks percussion professor Kevin Lepper.

Lincoln-Way North Director of Bands Kirk Hickman said Lincoln-Ways ensemble drew a large crowd for their performances, playing to a standing room only audience.

Im very flattered to see the audience response that the groups from Lincoln-Way North attracted, Hickman said. It speaks to the attention to details these students put into their music and the energy they produce in their performance.

Students also attended a clinic with Tom Benko, the drumset performer for the Blue Man Group. Benko shared that his participation in high school marching band, concert band, and musicals all led to his career success.

The Lincoln-Way East Percussion performed exceptionally well for it being their first off- campus performance as an ensemble, Hickman said. They have worked very hard to progress in this area of music and represented Lincoln-Way East very well.

Lincoln-Way Easts seventh period percussion ensemble performed Techno Pop by Nathan Daughtrey, Hoo-Daiko by Steve Damm, and Corazon Camiero by Plutarco Guzman. Students include: Derrick Adu-Baffour, McLain DAmico, Jack Malcom, Spencer Martin, Maggie Racine, and Catherine Spalla.

Lincoln-Way Norths first period percussion performed Stained Glass, mvt. III by David Gillingham, The Lost by Andrew Stout and La Fiesta De La Posada by Dave Brubeck. Students include: Noni Bell, Brandon Bulthuis, Dominic Camerino, Micky Graff, Matthew Gray, Anja Hill, Gordon Laurencell, Thomas Marquez, Owen McGee, Elena Mooth and Daniel C. Rehm.

Lincoln-Way Norths second period percussion ensemble performed La Sorella, arr. Earl Hatch and Three Brothers by Michael Colgrass. Students include: Tiffany Bronzell, Daniel Faloona, Parker Graham, Meg McGillivray, Emily Mooth, Evan Peterson, Kevin Riofski, Alexis Stinson, Hunter Sweeney, and Aaron Zilinskas.