Lincoln-Way celebrates National Merit Scholars
Friday, December 16, 2016

On Thursday, December 15, 2016, Lincoln-Way board members, administration, counselors and staff joined the parents of nearly 40 Lincoln-Way students to recognize their achievement of National Merit Scholar status. Attendees gathered in the Fine Arts Auditorium at Lincoln-Way Central at 6:00 p.m.

Superintendent Scott Tingley welcomed board of education members Dee Molinare, Ron Lullo, Joe Kosteck, and Joe Kirkeeng. Lincoln-Way Central Pupil Personnel Services Director Michele Newswander expressed her excitement to honor the individual students for their exceptional scholastic achievements.

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. Of the 1.6 million entrants, approximately 50,000 test takers (or just over three percent of students) with the highest PSAT/NMSQT Selection Index scores qualify for recognition in the National Merit Scholarship Program. Of that three percent, two thirds earn “Commended” status and one third earn “Semifinalist” status.

“This is quite an accomplishment,” said Newswander. “To the parents, thank you for giving your children the support needed to develop the confidence to excel academically and prove that they could compete on the national level. Students, we hope that you know how very proud we are of each of you.”

Lincoln-Way East Pupil Personnel Services Director Karen Murphy then announced each student to be recognized as they walked across the stage to receive their award from Superintendent Tingley and Board of Education members.

Semi-Finalists included:
Sabrina Corsetti
Collin Kavanaugh
Matthew Murphy
Christian Panici
Samuel Passarelli
Michael Piunti
Nicholas Piunti

Commended students included:
Daniel Allen
Micaela Beck
Jessica Bettridge
Julia Bortscheller
Nathan Briese
Liana Chidichimo
Weston Dell
Sabrina Dobrovits
Kristin Ferracuti
Michael Gaertig
Michael Gentry
Mary Gorski
Maria Hernandez (National Hispanic Recognition Program)
Eric Hypke
Laura Lewis
Matthew Klock
Ryan Murphy
Joshua Perch
Anna Piech
Michael O’Lear
Nikhil Piska
Allison Plourde
Daniel Rymut
Gehrig Simon
Taryn Springgate
Kathan Thomas
Annelise Trout
Sydney Whalen
Campbell Williams
Daniel Zhao
Carlos Ferran-Heredia (National Hispanic Recognition Program)