L-W West announces faculty for scholarship basketball game
Tuesday, March 17, 2015

The Lincoln-Way West High School faculty and students will get together for a basketball game challenge all for a good cause. The cause is the Lincoln-Way Teachers Memorial Scholarship Fund to raise money for student scholarships.

The game will be played on Friday, March 20 at 6:00 p.m. in the West Main Gym. Tickets are $3 for students and $5 for adults at the door.

The 2015 Charity Basketball Game Faculty Roster includes players: Phil Cipriani, Dan Szablewski, Mike Piechocinski, Christine Petrovski, Reine Borhauer, Lori Macaluso, Luke Lokanc, Paul Rodriguez, Chuck Welke, James DeFrank, David Gallagher, Brian Miller, Jeff Render, Tracy Plesek, Jeff Theiss, Anne Shanahan and Joe Stephens.

Last year we were able to successfully raise enough money through this event to give 3 West students scholarships for college. All proceeds will go towards the scholarships for graduating seniors at West who want to go into the teaching profession, stated David Gallagher, social science department chair at West and chairman of the event.

Gallagher continued, The competition to raise scholarship money was born out of the tradition of the Mike Davis Faculty Game which started over 17 years ago. The game was between teachers younger than 40 and teachers over 40 playing each other in a fun spirited competition. For the last several years, the spirit of the competition has continued with the West faculty members playing a student team. Its all in good fun to raise money for student scholarships.

Volunteer between quarter entertainment will be Dave Ernst and Dr. Monica Schmitt.

Volunteer workers for the Basketball Charity event include: Ted Robbins, Heather Novak, Jeff Render , Jill Pohlmann, Jamie Ende, Debbi Rossi, Jessi Miller, Bridget Guevara, Chester Szmurlo, Amy Lidy, Elizabeth Biesen, Dana Romano, Melissa Rowell, Laura Erlenbaugh and Sara Pavlik.